Gregg Doyel at says there will be fewer qualified candidates for the Heisman Trophy this football season, and it includes a certain LSU Tigers player.

On Doyel's list of ten Heisman candidates, LSU's Zach Mettenberger is at number 6 and Alabama's A.J. McCarron is at number 8. That just don't sound right to me, what about you?

Doyel believes that players are getting screwed out of an NYC invite, so who are they?

Doyel wrote, "Well, it won't be Texas A&M's Johnny Manziel or Oregon's Marcus Mariota, because those guys are locks -- right? -- to be in New York for the Heisman ceremony on Dec. 14. Who's getting screwed? Probably won't be Florida State's Jameis Winston, although on second thought ... it could be Winston."

Doyel's projected stats for LSU's Zach Mettenberger puts him fourth nationally in pass efficiency and is is predicting he will make about 3,500 passing yards, throw 30 touchdowns and maybe throw four interceptions.

Matt Leinart of Southern California won the Heisman in 2004 with similar numbers, 3,352 yards, 33 touchdowns, and six interceptions.

"Mettenberger? Like Leinart, he plays the right position for one of the right teams. He's in the right conference. And at the moment he has no chance."

Well, who's getting screwed?

"It could be Clemson's Tajh Boyd. Louisville's Teddy Bridgewater is the projected first overall pick in the 2014 NFL Draft, and he's having a hell of a season, but he might not make it to New York City. Baylor's Bryce Petty isn't just breaking the single-season record for pass efficiency -- he's obliterating it, like someone trimming 16 minutes off the marathon record -- but he's on the outside looking in."

I say love purple and live gold!

I can't think about it anymore, I don't know who is or who is not or if anybody at all is getting screwed. Below is Doyel's list of Heisman Candidates, vote for who you think will win the Heisman Trophy?