1130 The Tiger logo
Enter your number to get our free mobile app

NFL owners officially voted today to expand the playoffs, with the changes going into effect for the upcoming 2020 season.

7 teams from each conference will now make the postseason, with only the #1 seed in the AFC and NFC earning a bye.

Football fans can now look forward to triple-headers during wild-card weekend on January 9-10, 2021, with 3 games taking place each day.

The last time the NFL expanded the postseason was 30 years ago,  widening the field from 5 teams in each conference for a total of 10, to 6 teams in each conference for a total of 12.

Had the rule been implemented last season, the Los Angeles Rams and Pittsburgh Steelers would've qualified for the postseason at 7 seeds in each conference, with the Rams playing No. 2 seed Green Bay Packers and the Steelers playing No. 2 seeded Kansas City Chiefs.

TACKLE THESE: Check Out the Best Uniforms In Each NFL Team's History



More From 1130 The Tiger