Tyrann Mathieu, Sam Montgomery, Barkevious Mingo and Eric Reid are all on the the Bednarik Award watch list.

It's an award given to the nation's top defensive player each season.

LSU has won two Bednarik Awards in a row - Patrick Peterson in 2010 and Mathieu in 2011.

Four LSU Tigers football standouts have a chance to earn college the national defensive player of the year honor in 2012.

LSU joined Alabama and Michigan State with the most representatives on the watch list that kicked off the National College Football Awards Association's 12-day watch list unveiling of individual awards for the 2012 season.


More From 1130 The Tiger