Sunday night is one of the best pay-per-view events on the WWE's annual schedule. It's their Extreme Rules event, which is designed to be the one night of the year where the entire match card involves special stipulations, or a total lack of regulations...therefore making each match full of...Extreme Rules.

The Extreme Rules name started under the WWE umbrella in 2009, but it's true origins date back to the original ECW, where every match was under extreme rules standards. The first ever WWE Extreme Rules was held at New Orleans Arena (now known as the Smoothie King Center) and featured a headline match between Edge and Jeff Hardy for the World Heavyweight Championship, and because it's Extreme Rules, it was a ladder match...

This year's show sets up to leave a lasting impact as well. But not in the same manner as the original in 2009. This year's event will actually not feature a WWE or Heavyweight Championship match of any kind. The biggest belt defended will be the Intercontinental Championship, which is set up for total shenanigans in one of the worst Extreme Rules regulations ever. It's a championship match between Dean Ambrose (champion) and The Miz, where the belt can change hands on a disqualification.

So The Miz could have his wife Maryse punch him in the face as soon as the bell rings, and he wins the Championship (though its more likely someone like Elias Sampson comes out and attacks The Miz, giving him the belt and a new rivalry).

But actually the most anticipated match will be for the Tag Team titles, where the Hardys may be positioned to lose the belts in order to set up their singles runs. We can only hope for a full plate of Brokenness.

Anyway, here's the match card for Sunday night (so far):

Steel Cage Match For The Raw Tag Team Titles
The Hardy's (Champions) vs. Sheamus & Cesaro

Fatal 5 Way Match (winner becomes the #1 contender for Brock Lesnar’s Universal Title)
Roman Reigns vs. Seth Rollins vs. Samoa Joe vs. Finn Balor vs. Bray Wyatt

WWE Intercontinental Title Match (title can change hands on a disqualification)
Dean Ambrose (Champion) vs. The Miz

Kendo Stick On A Pole Match For The Raw Women’s Title
Alexa Bliss (Champion) vs. Bayley

Submission Match For The WWE Cruiserweight Title 
Neville (Champion) vs. Austin Aries

Pre-Show Match
Rich Swann and Sasha Banks vs. Noam Dar and Alicia Fox

More From 1130 The Tiger