Houston Astros outfielder designated hitter/outfielder was named American League Rookie of the Year on Monday, becoming the third player in franchise history to earn the award.

Alvarez joins Jeff Bagwell (1991) and Carlos Correa as Houston players who have won the award.

New York Mets first baseman Pete Alonzo took home National League Rookie of the Year honors.

The 22-year old Alvarez was a unanimous selection of the award's 30 voters. Baltimore Orioles pitcher John Means finished second, with Rays second baseman Brandon Lowe third, White Sox outfielder Eloy Jimenez fourth and Blue Jays second baseman Cavan Biggio fifth.

A native of Cuba, Alvarez didn't even join the Astros until early June, but still managed to hit .313, to go along with 27 home runs and 78 runs batted in in only 87 games.

Alonso was a near-unanimous selection of the award's 30 voters, getting 29 first-place votes. Braves starter Mike Soroka received the other first-place vote and finished second, with Padres shortstop Fernando Tatis Jr. finishing third.

The 24-year old Alonzo hit .263, while walloping 53 homers and driving in 120 runs.

More From 1130 The Tiger