Caddo Participating In Campaign To Keep People Safe In Their Trucks
Seatbelts save lives. That's a fact. And law enforcement has made it clear in the past that they will be on the look-out for violators with the nationwide "Click It Or Ticket" campaign.
Here in the south, there are a lot of people who drive trucks every day. These trucks are built differently, so the riders are closer to some dangers. Some may not have a backseat to install a child safety seat, so parents may not know the right thing to do.
That's why The Caddo Parish Sheriff's Office will be out in force starting this Friday.
The Caddo Parish Sheriff’s Office will participate in a grant-funded enforcement period for “Buckle Up In Your Truck” April 22-28. Deputies will be targeting those drivers and passengers who fail to buckle up in pickup trucks, said Caddo Sheriff Steve Prator.
The Louisiana Highway Safety Commission is funding the high-visibility enforcement and awareness campaign to encourage seat belt usage and reduce unrestrained fatalities among pickup truck drivers and passengers.
Pickup trucks account for 25 percent of the vehicle fleet in Louisiana. State observation surveys and fatality data show that pickup truck drivers and their passengers fall well behind occupants of other kinds of passenger vehicles when it comes to wearing seat belts. Statistics also show that pickup trucks are two times more likely to rollover than cars in fatal crashes.
Taking the time to buckle up before every trip is the single most effective thing you can do to protect yourself in a crash, Prator said.
And just in case you needed a refresher on the actual laws that govern seatbelt and child retraints:
Primary Seatbelt (R.S. 32:295.1) - vehicle 10,000 lbs. or less, all occupants must have seat belt when vehicle is in motion.
Child Occupant Seatbelt (R.S. 32:295) - Children under the age of 6 years or less than 60 lbs. must be in a child restraint system or booster seat that is age and size appropriate, in accordance with manufacturers recommendations. Children 6 to 12 years of age must be restrained by a lap belt, shoulder harness, or an age / size appropriate child safety or booster seat.
Child Restraint Affidavit (R.S. 32:414T) - The department shall send written notification to the driver to inform them of 30 day allowance for the driver to show an affidavit for proof that an appropriate child safety seat has been obtained. Following the 30 day period, if not affidavit has been provided, the Department shall suspend the license of any person upon notification of the first or second conviction, until such time as he provides the department with a notarized affidavit stating he has acquired an approved age- or size-appropriate child restraint system where applicable and has complied with all other requirements of reinstatement as provided by law and department regulation.